2016 Reviews are in!

Check out our reviews below, or click here to view directly on our Facebook page.

Reviews from 2016 are here!

Greg Sands  ★★★★★  Submitted November 8, 2016
I had a great experience riding with Kingfisher. Not only would I recommend it to a friend, I have. John knows the terrain, selected great routes based on our desires and ability and took great care of us.

Jimmy Purtill  ★★★★★  Submitted August 30, 2016
Such an incredible week with the best tour guide in the business! A big thank you goes out to Kingfisher Cycling LLC. Our guide, Mr. Pescatore, is a great motivator and will ride next to you during the entire climb to make sure you make it to the top of each mountain. He has great relationships with the local restaurant owners and staff, wich makes for an unbeatable dinning experience. Hotels in some instances are great, but for the full experience, Mr. Pescator made arrangements at Le Patio, a simple, yet elegant B & B named Le Patio (link to B&B is below for more information). Words simply cannot describe how perfect my experience was. I am so thankful for this once in a life time opportunity and I hope to continue riding throughout the summer.

Richard Wegryn  ★★★★★  Submitted July 13, 2016
This trip was a perfect combination of challenging cycling, breathtaking views of the Pyrenees, French culture, the Tour de France and relaxation. Our guide Mr. Pescatore worked tirelessly behind the scenes to make everything come together seamlessly using his extensive cycling experience, native language and knowledge of the region. This is truly a once in a lifetime experience that is not to be missed!!

Chris Harrer  ★★★★★  Submitted July 12, 2016
Just got back from one of the most memorable vacations I’ve ever had! Spent 1 week cycling in the Pyrenees Mountains with John and our group; words can’t describe the fabulous scenery we saw. We also got to see 2 stages (one finish and one start) of the Tour de France live – what an experience!!!! John’s knowledge of the roads, culture, and area we stayed it just made everything that much more enjoyable and absolutely hassle free. If you have the opportunity to go on a tour with Kingfisher Cycling LLC, don’t pass it up – you’ll will be completely satisfied!!! Can’t say enough good things about John and how enjoyable he made this trip!

James Purtill  ★★★★★  Submitted July 13, 2016 
I spent a week in Luchon, France climbing the mountains and passes on bikes around the town with Kingfisher Cycling.  I was with my oldest son, my brother-in-law and two of my best friends. I have never had such a rewarding vacation or such an enjoyable experience.  Thanks to John Pescatore for being such a great host and fantastic tour guide.

Reviews from 2015

Valerie Pochron  ★★★★★  Posted to our Facebook page September 23, 2015. Definitely the most amazing cycling experience of my life! Words can’t describe the beauty of the ride. John is an amazing, top notch ride leader, coach, and expert in all things cycling and the locale. His research and expertise in the area makes the voyage fun and easy. Don’t let an opportunity to have a ride of your life time pass you by! Go on a trip with Kingfisher cycling and enjoy!

Thurston Ripley  ★★★★★  Posted to our Facebook page September 22, 2015. I traveled with with Kingfisher Cycling (John) in the town of Bagnares De Luchon in August. The bike rides were challenging but doable. The scenery was spectacular. John was a great host and leader: he accompanied us on the rides, he guided us through the town, he found us great places to eat. The B and B where we stayed was clean, comfortable and perfectly located. I would go back in a second.

Thomas Scanlon  ★★★★★  Posted to our Facebook page on September 17, 2015.  John was the perfect guide and Bangeres De Luchon was the perfect spot for my groups biannual European cycling trip. Loved the rides, the B&B, food, town, people and the fun. Thanks for a great week John.

Jimmy Purtill  ★★★★★  Posted to our Facebook page August 30, 2015.

Meghan Finley  ★★★★★  Posted to our Facebook page August 13, 2015. Kingfisher Cycling fulfilled the trip of a lifetime for me. John Pescatore is a great rider and a wonderful host. His enthusiasm for cycling and the French Pyrenees is infectious. He offers a wide range of stunning routes for varying abilities and has a knack for encouraging the most fatigued rider to dig a little deeper to reach the top. Knowing that world-class cyclists race on these very roads only make the rides more thrilling. His expertise in Pyrenees cycling is matched by his love of the local culture and his kind-hearted charm. I have loved cycling for many years but this trip took it to a new level. Thanks, Kingfisher!

Tom Norrdin  ★★★★★  Posted to our Facebook page May 19, 2015. Trip of a lifetime! If you are considering a bike tour book with Kingfisher. My tour was planned and executed at a level beyond expectation. Just the right mix of riding, culture, and food. Landscapes were INCREDIBLE! I felt like a rider in the Tour de France, but much slower!

Reviews from 2014

Michael Onofrio  ★★★★★  Posted to our Facebook page August 31, 2014.   I spent close to a week in Luchon riding with Kingfisher Cycling. John was a fabulous guide and took all the guesswork out of planning such a trip. The accommodations were great and the rental bikes were top notch. John is also a great cyclist, I learned a lot from him about cycling and I’m not new to the sport — I now know to pedal against my brakes on cold descents. Beyond biking, John knew the best spots for crepes, beers and amazing ham sandwiches!

Rachel Duncan  ★★★★★  Posted to our Facebook page August 6, 2014.  We had an awesome time with Kingfisher Cycling! On our arrival day, we enjoyed a ride into Spain (!) with a challenging but satisfying climb that you may have scene in the Tour de France. Every day we climbed something really worth climbing and were rewarded with wonderful views and strong legs. We usually stopped mid-way in a village to enjoy coffee and snacks – great fuel for the riding! France is a wonderful place to bike.

John knows the routes and options available and has taken lots of time to put together enjoyable rides for cyclists of all levels. As the slowest rider in our group, I enjoyed every mile, and I know the fast riders did too. I felt under the weather one day, and John rerouted us so that I could go back and rest while others could ride on. This flexibility meant a lot!We stayed in a lovely hotel/bed and breakfast in the heart of Luchon. The rooms were awesome and the food was great. John has clearly spent time cultivating relationships with folks locally, so we were welcomed as friends just about everywhere we went. I’d go back in a heartbeat! Thank you, Kingfisher Cycling!

David Kahn  ★★★★★  Posted to our Facebook page August 6, 2014.  Watching this year’s Tour de France was a new and exhilarating experience, because unlike previous years, I had actually ridden many of the race routes! I took particular pleasure in watching the stage that finished in Luchon and recognizing the awning of Chez Manu, where I’d enjoyed my morning cafe-au-laits.

Kingfisher Cycling helped me and my girlfriend make the most of our trip – setting a challenging and fun ride itinerary, supporting each of us as we rode at our own pace, guiding us through rides that let us experience some of the most spectacular terrain and scenery I’ve ever experienced.

John was extremely helpful and supportive, and his guidance let us focus on enjoying our trip while he took care of all the logistics. Our trip was incredible and even as we were leaving I was dreaming of coming back for more.

Kevin Arceneaux  ★★★★★  Posted to our Facebook page August 4, 2014.  We had a fabulous week biking the mythical climbs of the Pyrenees! Our guide, John, knows a ton of routes in the region and customized our rides each morning to take into account our desires and goals for the day. He also let us set the pace. In short, he was friendly, professional, and above all, a fun riding partner. I highly recommend Kingfisher Cycling!!